Advisory Council

Advance Australia is a not-for-profit public movement. As a political campaigner under Commonwealth Electoral law, Advance Australia is independent of all political parties, religious organisations or institutions, unions and or business.  As the voice of mainstream Australians on the issues that matter most, we ensure that mainstream Australians get a fair go.

Members of the Advisory Council share their talents by providing Advance Australia with their expertise; their diverse knowledge and different perspectives. The members of the Advisory Council have no formal governance responsibilities but act as Ambassadors for Advance Australia and their views represent their thoughts and knowledge, unless expressly acting as a spokesperson. 


Dr David Adler

David is a highly respected leader within Australia’s Jewish community. A medical doctor by profession, David is the former Deputy Medical Secretary of the Australian Medical Association and is passionate about public policy and advocacy. David is currently the President of the Australian Jewish Association. He is an ardent supporter of free speech, national security, religious freedom, family values and smaller government.


Simon Fenwick

Simon Fenwick is a founding partner of US based International Value Advisers.

With a background in funds management and financial markets, Simon has worked for Ernst & Young and Wilson HTM (Australia, 1992 – 1996), BNP Paribas (New York, 2002 – 2014) and Société Générale (London, 1996 – 2002).

Simon is a University of Queensland Endowment Fund board member and is actively involved in bursary programmes at Brisbane Grammar School.

Simon lives in Sydney with his wife and children.


Mr Tony Hodgson AM

With a distinguished career in executive management and board governance, Tony Hodgson AM has a keen eye for business development and relationship building.

A former Joint Founding and Managing Partner of Australia’s leading corporate and insolvency firm Ferrier Hodgson, Tony has more than 25 years of Board Governance experience at Coles, HSBC, Pact Group, Tabcorp and Melbourne Port Corporation.

He is currently Deputy Chairman for Racing NSW and a Member of the Advisory Council at JPMorgan.

Tony is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and is a Certified Practising Accountant with a Specialist Designation in Insolvency and Reconstruction. He is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a former Registered and Official Liquidator.


Sean Jacobs

Sean is a proud Papua New Guinean Australian with a passion for International Relations.

Sean is also a security specialist and policy expert, having worked for Australia’s National Security Adviser and as a lead planner for the 2018 Commonwealth Games and the Brisbane G20 Leaders’ Summit. He is a former Liberal National Brisbane City Council election candidate, United Nations worker, international youth volunteer, and national water polo champion. Sean is the recent author of his first book Winners Don't Cheat (Connor Court Publishing, 2018).


Dr Maurice L Newman AC
Maurice Newman AC is the former Chairman of Deutsche Bank Australia & New Zealand, Australian Securities Exchange (ASX), and Australian Broadcasting Corporation, and Chancellor of Macquarie University.  His career spans over 50 years in stockbroking and investment banking. Maurice has chaired a number of Asian business alliances and has been an adviser to Australian governments, State and Federal.

Maurice is currently Chairman of Melon Pastoral Pty Ltd; M Value Capital Advisory Board; Chamber of Australia-India Trade & Investment (CAITI); Macquarie University Foundation; Taronga Foundation; Bradman Foundation; and The Australian Fathers’ Day Council.  He is a Director of O’Connell Street Associates Pty Limited; Senior Corporate Advisor to the Marsh & McLennan Companies; Trustee, Sydney Cricket & Sports Ground Trust; Patron of CEDA; and Member of the ADC Advisory Council. He was appointed Chairman of the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Council in 2013; and Honorary Professor in Public Diplomacy at the Soft Power Advocacy & Research Centre, Macquarie University in September 2012.


Share this page